Christmas 2012 – Zoya Electra & China Glaze Ruby Pumps (of course!)

Standard

First, let me say THANKS to all who are reading my new blog!  I’m super-psyched about what the new year will bring for my little corner of the nail blogosphere, if I keep this up…

Second – OK, so I’m not the biggest Christmas fan.  I’ll cop to that up front.  I know, I know, Christmas makes a lot of people happy, and I certainly don’t want to rain on their parades.  But you’re talking to a gal who actually was picked to read the part of the Grinch in elementary school, so, you know, everyone sort of saw it coming…

Wow – I AM a big holiday bummer!  Switching gears…

A really cool thing about this time of year (and basically all of winter) is OMG THE SPARKLES!  Blinging out your nails is almost expected.  So, I guess there are two schools of thought: either bling out to the nth degree, or don’t overdo the bling, because it’s cliche.  I can see the wisdom of either approach.  However, since I’m basically a walking, talking, sequined tube top even at the best of times, I’ve gotta go with the sparkles when I get a chance.

I’ve also got to go with the classics.  I’ve seen some really, really great holiday nail art in funky colors this year, but this is pretty much the only time that I get to bust out the China Glaze Ruby Pumps.  Yep, it’s a cliche too, but it’s legendary for a reason.  In fact, China Glaze, in their infinite wisdom, has picked up on the popularity of this color and even sells itty bitty cheap bottles of it so that even the non-nail aficionados will get hooked, perhaps due to a tiny stocking stuffer from an elf in the know.  So if you’re trying to get other people hooked into your nail polish obsession, pick up a few tiny bottles and share the love.

To add to the sparkle of Ruby Pumps, I added Zoya Electra from the Zoya Ornate collection.  If you’re into nail art, I love the idea of using this as snow, icicles, or Santa’s coat’s white fur trim.  If you just like sparkly – WOW, is this packed with sparkly!  I’m really glad that I picked this up when the Zoya fairies were running some specials in November-December.  (Side note: if you’re not following Zoya on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram, do it now!  You never know when the fairies will strike!) I’ll probably use Electra again this winter, maybe even for a full mani – it’s got really great coverage, and I love both the application and the overall effect.

Other tidbits: Santa’s belt is Wet N Wild black cream.  Also I put a random Sinful Colors white creme polish under the Electra in case the coverage wasn’t too great, but I probably didn’t need to because it’s packed with glitter.  This mani is two coats, plus Seche Vite on top (which seemed to smooth out the glitter nicely).

#ChinaGlaze #Zoya #WetNWild #SinfulColors #red #glitter #silver

A post shared by Cuticle Pusher (@cuticlepusher) on

[NOTE: Please excuse the cuticles – it’s that special time of year, when cold air + heated rooms = aaack!]

I know, it’s suuuuper traditional, and not at all imaginative.  But still, this design is the type that’s guaranteed to get approval from Great Aunt Hattie while I’m dishing out the eggnog.  Plus, this manicure meant that people took pity on me and did lots of the Christmas cooking and cleaning so I didn’t ruin my nails.  (Wait – did I say that?)

I hope you’re all having a great holiday season.  I wish you safe travels, happy gatherings with the people you love, and all the nail polish you wish for!

Comments are closed.