Model’s Own – Copper Pot

Standard
Model’s Own – Copper Pot

Hello all!  It’s almost New Year’s Eve, and I haven’t blinged out the nails yet.  It’s pretty cold and snowy here – not quite at The Shining levels, but getting there.  So I just felt the need to paint my nails with something warm and glowing.

Enter one of my untrieds, Copper Pot from Model’s Own.  I got it from Harlow & Co. when they were doing free shipping after Thanksgiving.  In fact, I got several Model’s Own polishes, because I’d wanted to try them for awhile but never have.  It was hard deciding which ones to order, but Copper Pot was unambiguously at the top of my list because I’m a sucker for warm polishes.

On a day like today, it’s no surprise that I immediately reached for this polish.  From the bottle, Copper Pot looked like the perfect coppery-gold,  super-warm polish I needed to chase away the cold.

ModelsOwnCopperPotNails123012

This is two thinnish coats plus Seche Vite.  I really liked the formula, and application was a dream – not too thick, not too thin. I did have one issue with the brush, because it unscrewed from the white cap when I was trying to open the bottle.  But I was able to fix that.  So far, so good!

Unfortunately, the color was  different from what I expected by looking at the bottle.  It’s definitely a warm colored polish like I wanted – sort of shimmery, but not metallic, as I expected.  However,  I anticipated it would be a bit more brown or coppery.  It’s straight up yellow gold!  (I’d actually like to compare this  to Zoya Goldie sometime, to give you an idea of the goldness.)

Here’s a bottle shot to show you why I thought it might be a little less gold:

ModelsOwnCopperPotBottle123012

See what I mean?  Coppery brown accents all over the place.

Don’t get me wrong – I love the color, and the formula was fabulous, so I’m still a happy camper.  Anything that can remind me of the sun during the darkest days of the year is a great thing!  I’ll definitely be wearing this again, although I’ll also be on a perpetual lookout for the perfect coppery-gold polish.  (Feel free to give me suggestions in comments!)

Have a good New Year’s Eve!  And if you’re someplace cold, stay warm!

Comments are closed.