Man Glaze Mink Mitten – swatches and review (NSFW language?)

Standard

It’s a new year, and I have some blogging to do!  This time around, it’s about a polish from one of my favorite nail polish companies.  However, you’ve got to take my word for it that I’m not trying to throw out a bunch of double entendres.  It’s just that with this brand, it’s impossible, because their name is a double entendre. (If you don’t know, don’t ask.)

I’ve tried to start this post a million times.  Cases in point:

  • So, I’ve decided to try some ManGlaze for my first manicure of the new year.  (Not good.)
  • Have any of you gotten your hands on ManGlaze yet? (Even worse.)
  • Let’s talk about ManGlaze!  (No thanks…)

See what I mean?  At this point, I could be talking about my great aunt’s apple pie and you’d be snickering.  (Also, eww.)  Obvs, this company has its fans and detractors.  Me, I kinda like their attitude – I mean, who doesn’t like a company that won’t let you enter their website until you affirm that you’re not an asshole?  (Seriously.  Not kidding. You have to answer the question.)  But even more importantly, I’ve loved their polish from the first time I laid eyes on it.  According to their website, they focus on matte nail polish because they “figured a matte finish would really appeal to guys and really cool chicks.”  Guess I’m a cool chick?  I don’t know, I just like it.

I also like the formula – it’s on the thickish side because it’s packed with pigment, but it’s still easy to work with.  And the packaging!  Nothing like it.  How these dudes come up with label ideas is beyond me.

Oddly enough, the polish I’m swatching today is probably their shiniest, “girliest” polish, Mink Mitten.  Described as a “Metallic Plurpleder Matte,” it’s actually fairly shiny because it’s metallic – almost lovely, although that adjective probably wouldn’t please the creators.  It comes in two labels, and I chose the Chicago Rat War one, because why not?  (I lived in Chicago awhile, and I was unaware of a rat war, but perhaps I was not watching the news at the time.)

On to the swatches:

ManGlazeMinkMittenMatte

Don’t you love how the rat is going to eat my ring finger? Classic!

This is sans topcoat, 2 coats on most nails (3 on the pointer, because I had a polish denting mishap).

ManGlazeTopcoat

This is with Seche Vite.   There was some obvious shrinkage (shut up), but it didn’t change the look too much.  With most ManGlaze polishes, the look changes entirely with a shiny topcoat.  In this case, I’m glad I did a topcoat, just so I can protect it.

ManGlazeMinkMittenBottleFront

Bottle shot!

ManGlazeMinkMittenBottleBack

My friends are quite pretty, thank you. Ha ha!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can purchase ManGlaze from their website or from Amazon.com.  They also have a Facebook shop that occasionally works, and sometimes they’ll run sales.  Their customer service can’t be beat, either!

Have you tried ManGlaze?  (Shut up.)  If so, comment!

One response