Movember nails (with Zoya Harley and Jinx)

Standard
Movember nails (with Zoya Harley and Jinx)

First, I want to thank all of you for your suggestions in my blogiversary giveaway post!

Some of you asked me for tutorials/nail art ideas.  Although I’m no nail art expert (and I’m even worse at tutorials!), I thought I would share for you something really simple that I did recently for Movember.  (Hey, if my husband can grow out all of his facial hair in November, I can at least paint my nails with a mustache, right?)

This is based on a tutorial by cutepolish, who makes just about the BEST video tutorials out there!

First, I painted my nails in a neutral color – in this case, Zoya Harley, which is a light/medium grey polish with a hint of shimmer.  Then I decided to use Zoya Jinx for the mustache because – well, aren’t reddish brown mustaches cute?  I love both of these polishes – they apply like a dream, they dry well, and they’re just generally friendly to work with.  NOTE: I had to use two coats of Harley because it’s a bit sheer, but the end effect is lovely.  (I generally use at least two coats for most polishes anyway.)

I used a dotting tool to make a few big dots to mark the center of the mustache, then smaller dots for the outer points of the mustache.

IMG_1367[1]

Then, I used the dotting tool to carefully connect the dots, making the middle of the mustache thick and the ends of the mustache pointy.

IMG_1369[1]

I finished with Seche Vite.

Hope you like the design, and I hope you check out the rest of cutepolish‘s tutorials.  They’re really great!

Happy Movember!

 

Comments are closed.